00-hofstatt.jpg

Hofstatt

Design of public and private courtyards

The site, situated in the historic centre of Munich, has been used from the Sueddeutscher Verlag as a publishing house for decades. A new usage concept was developed for the area after the publishing company moved to a new location. The existing historic buildings, in parts protected, were complemented with new ones to an unique ensemble, creating a new urban living and business address, the Hofstatt, in the midst of Munich.

The design concept for the new buildings constitutes a clear distinction between the different time layers. On ground floor a shopping mall connects the different parts of the ensemble, the levels above are for residential and office use.

Four inner courtyards provide open space, each with a special character, each created to be enjoyed either by staying or by looking at it from a higher level. Opportunities for children to play are integrated in both private patios. The two courtyards open to the public invite to have a rest while shopping and offer gastronomic service.

The private courtyards

Courtyard 1: The changing intensity of contrast between hard and soft landscape materials is the essential design theme of the private courtyard. The basalt gravel used as flooring shows different shades of grey, depending whether it is dry or wet, interacting with the intensive greens of the groundcover vegetation and the maple grove. The specific grid of the planting offers a high-contrast play of colour, which unfolds its special effect particularly when looked at from a higher level. The peculiar bark structure of the maple trees (Acer capillipes) adds a special all-year aspect.

Courtyard 2: The modelled surface paved with natural stone and crested with picturesque pine trees creates a moving landscape, which structures the courtyard area into zones for movement and zones to stay. The ridges and in part the slopes of the hilly landscape are formed as planting areas. The layer of almost black basalt gravel used as mulch there contrasts strongly with the light grey of the dolomite paving stones. A flock of wooden sheep and embedded swales filled with sand create a playscape, being naturally integrated in the design theme.

The public courtyards

Courtyard 3: The special atmosphere of the small patio is created by a sculptural nagelfluh monolith, positioned on a paving made from the same material and planted with honey locust (Gleditsia triacanthos). The outdoor seatings of a cafe invite to rest and relax underneath the light canopy of the trees.

Courtyard 4: The busy courtyard with generous seating areas is flanked from the shopping mall on the northern side. The colour of the basalt paving stones is especially intensive if wet, so depending on weather, there is a change in the grade of contrast. A solitary wingnut (Pterocarya fraxinifolia), already higher than 10m at time of planting, makes a great visual impact but gives no hint that the ceiling of the basement garage is just below the pavement.

  • Location:

    Munich

  • Client:

    VVS Vermietungs- und Verwaltungsgesellschaft Sendlinger Straße GmbH & Co. KG, Munich

  • Competition Design, Architecture:

    Meili Peter Architekten, Zurich

  • Competition Design, Landscapearchitecture:

    Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten, Zurich

  • Architect:

    CL Map GmbH, Munich

  • Period of planning:

    2011-13, LP 5-8

  • Size of site:

    1,16 ha

  • Photographer:

    Jörg Koopmann, Munich

  • 01-baum.jpg
  • 02-eingang.jpg
  • 03-untergeschoss.jpg
  • 04-innenhof.jpg
  • 05-innenhof.jpg
  • 06-durchgang.jpg
  • 07-huegelhof.jpg
  • 08-innenhof.jpg
  • 09-durchgang.jpg
  • 10-schafe.jpg
  • 11-aufsicht.jpg

Keller Damm Kollegen GmbH
Landschaftsarchitekten Stadtplaner
Prof. Regine Keller, Franz Damm

Lothstraße 19
80797 München

Tel. 089 248 83 83-0
Fax 089 248 83 83-99
info@keller-damm-kollegen.de

Geschäftsführer Regine Keller, Franz Damm
Amtsgericht München - HRB 193687

Alle Rechte vorbehalten
© 2018

00-hofstatt.jpg

Hofstatt

Gestaltung der öffentlichen und privaten Höfe

Das Areal zwischen Sendlinger Straße, Hackenstraße und Färbergraben in der Münchner Altstadt wurde jahrzehntelang vom Süddeutschen Verlag genutzt. Nach Wegzug des Verlags wurde für das Gelände eine neue Nutzung konzipiert. Der teilweise denkmalgeschützte Bestand wurde durch Neubauten ergänzt und zu einer neuen innerstädtischen Geschäfts- und Wohnadresse entwickelt: Die Hofstatt, mitten in München.

Das Gestaltungskonzept für die neue Bebauung ergibt eine klare Differenzierung der unterschiedlichen Zeitschichten. Im Erdgeschoss verknüpft eine Ladenpassage die unterschiedlichen Gebäudeteile, in den darüberliegenden Geschossen sind Wohnungen und Büroräume angeordnet.

Insgesamt vier Höfe geben Raum für einen Aufenthalt unter freien Himmel, jeder Hof hat dabei einen ganz eigenen Charakter und ist zugleich Verweilort und Betrachtungsgarten. In den beiden privaten Höfen wurden Spielangebote für Kinder integriert. Die beiden öffentlich zugänglichen Höfe laden zum Verweilen und Pausieren während des Einkaufens ein und bieten Außensitzflächen mit gastronomischen Angebot.

Die privaten Höfe

Hof 1: Das Zusammenspiel aus dunkler Belagsdecke mit Basaltabstreu und leuchtend grünen Gräsern und Bodendeckern, überstanden von einem Hain aus Schlangenhaut-Ahornen, ist das wesentliche Thema dieses privaten Hofes. Durch das besondere Raster der Pflanzung ergibt sich ein kontrastreiches Farbspiel, das seine besondere Wirkung auch bei der Betrachtung aus den oberen Stockwerken entwickelt. Die auffällige Rindenstruktur der Ahornbäume (Acer capillipes) bietet ganzjährig einen besonderen Aspekt.

Hof 2: Eine bewegte Landschaft aus modellierten Dolomitpflasterflächen, gekrönt von prägnant wachsenden Kiefern, zoniert den langgestreckten Hof in Bewegungsflächen und Aufenthaltsorte. Rücken und Flanken der Hügellandschaft sind als Pflanzflächen ausgebildet, eine Mulchdecke aus Basaltschotter steht im Kontrast zu dem hellen Dolomit des Kleinsteinpflasters. Eine Herde hölzerner Schafe und aus der Bewegung der Oberfläche geformte Sandmulden stellen eine in das Gestaltungsbild integrierte Spiellandschaft dar.

Die öffentlichen Höfe

Hof 3: Die besondere Atmosphäre dieses kleinen Hofes wird durch einen skulpturalen Pflanztrog aus Nagelfluh kreiert, der als Monolith auf einem Bodenbelag selbigen Materials liegt und mit Gleditsien bepflanzt ist. Unter deren lockerem Blätterdach bieten die Außensitzmöglichkeiten eines Cafés Raum zum Verweilen und Entspannen.

Hof 4: Der belebte Hof mit großzügigen Außensitzbereichen wird im Norden von der Einkaufspassage flankiert. Der Bodenbelag ist aus Basaltplatten, deren Farbe bei Feuchtigkeit besonders intensiv zur Geltung kommt und dadurch wechselnde Kontraste bietet. Ein mächtiger Solitärbaum, eine über 10 Meter hohe Flügelnuss, lässt nicht erahnen dass die Tiefgaragendecke nur wenig unter der Belagsoberfläche liegt.

  • Ort:

    München

  • Bauherr:

    VVS Vermietungs- und Verwaltungsgesellschaft Sendlinger Straße GmbH & Co. KG, München

  • Entwurf Wettbewerb/ Architektur:

    Meili Peter Architekten, Zürich

  • Entwurf Wettbewerb/ Landschaftsarchitektur:

    Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten, Zürich

  • Architekt:

    CL Map GmbH, München

  • Zeitraum:

    2011-13, LP 5-8

  • Projektgröße:

    1,16 ha

  • Bearbeitung:

    Mattias Roser, Ralf Kuczera

  • Fotograf:

    Jörg Koopmann, München

  • 01-baum.jpg
  • 02-eingang.jpg
  • 03-untergeschoss.jpg
  • 04-innenhof.jpg
  • 05-innenhof.jpg
  • 06-durchgang.jpg
  • 07-huegelhof.jpg
  • 08-innenhof.jpg
  • 09-durchgang.jpg
  • 10-schafe.jpg
  • 11-aufsicht.jpg

Keller Damm Kollegen GmbH
Landschaftsarchitekten Stadtplaner
Prof. Regine Keller, Franz Damm

Lothstraße 19
80797 München

Tel. 089 248 83 83-0
Fax 089 248 83 83-99
info@keller-damm-kollegen.de

Geschäftsführer Regine Keller, Franz Damm
Amtsgericht München - HRB 193687

Alle Rechte vorbehalten
© 2018